11/25

This is the final week of the case study, therefore here are the results of the final measurements of the study:

  • Heart rate – 51 BPM
  • Weight – 169 lbs
  • Average mile time – 7:11
  • Times ran in previous week – 3
  • Times lifted in previous week – 3
  • Ordered in previous week – 2

This past week, I feel like I have maintained this new found lifestyle that I set out to attain at the beginning of this blog.  As an aspiring physical therapist, a soon to be Health and Exercise Science Major graduate at Syracuse University, and past high school athlete, I have devoted my life to understand the optimal function of the human body and the steps to get there.  It is time that I applied what I have learned to my life.  I have been a fit person throughout my life.  I attended practices and devoted the time that was required for the sport, whether it be football, rugby, tae kwon do, or track.  I never supplemented my games and practices with a good diet or outside training together.  The more I learn about how the body works, the more I realize how terrible my decisions were.  But now I am just now realizing that.  Even though I am not part of any sports or athletic organizations, I want to implement a good diet and a good mix of aerobic exercise vs resistance training for the into my lifestyle.  As I said in my opening statement of this blog, the early 20s of a person’s life is a time where they will develop habits they will take with them for the rest of their life.  I firmly believe in that.

This 5 week study may not have massive implications on my physical appearance, but I feel absolutely better.  I am proud of myself in the fact that I was able to commit to eating well by preparing my own food and only ordering out four times within this span.  I exercised at least five times a week during the duration of this case study.  By no means am I a nutritionist or exercise guru.  I am simply a college student who has some understanding about how the body works and what is “good” for the body.  In an attempt to address the quote mentioned in the first blog –  “Self-care is not selfish or self-indulgent.  We cannot nurture others from a dry well.  We need to take care of our own needs first, then we can give from our surplus, our abundance” Jennifer Louden – I believe that in order to give others valid advice, one must endure the same trials and tribulations before guiding another.

As a result of this 5 week study on myself, I believe i can give some insight on a striving “fit and nutritionally sound” college student.  As shown in my blog, my schedule was given a makeover.  I hardly have time to tend to myself.  Just because a college student has limited time to spend on worrying about themselves does not mean self-care should be neglected.  One’s diet does not have to be the healthiest diet during college, but they need to be at least conscious of their choices.  Physical activity should implemented in their lives somehow too.  Our bodies are temples and we must preserve those temples before they crumble in front of our eyes.  The only way an individual can find time to work out is if the MAKE time.  I emphasize making time because obligations pile up.  Homework, tests, projects, social events, and sicknesses arise.  It is our own responsibility to stay healthy.  Mom, dad, grandma, and grandpa won’t always be there to help feed and tell you what to do.  So YOU have to schedule a time to work out amidst the chaos college presents.

To all of my avid followers, the end of this 5 week regimen does not mean this blog will cease to exist.  Please stay tuned for any future posts, and thank you again for taking your time to read what I have written

Leave a Reply

